OUT OF THE MOUTHS OF BABES

My youngest granddaughter (the one with the red hair in the photo) came bounding into my room to say hello. She is four years old and full of energy, and I mean full to the brim but she has a heart of gold and a smile that lights up the world. I had been having a tough day up to that point.

“Hi Nonni, I came to see you!” as she jumped up on my lap and gave me a kiss and a big hug. After she hugged and kissed me she looked at me and her little hand went immediately to my hair, which is red like hers. Of course, Maddie was born with that beautiful red hair, mine has been the same color red for over fifty years, but comes from a bottle. However, she doesn’t know that and proudly states that; “me and nonni have the same color hair, only us!!” To make a long story short, I tried to cut my own hair out of frustration and wound up butchering it. I went to my beautician and she had to cut it really short in order to make it look half-way decent. It was in a spike design and looked pretty good to me. I had a few days prior that were rough and was feeling down.

Maddie swished her hand across the top of my hair and said, ” Oh, nonni I love your hair it looks beautiful.” ” Thank you, sweetie”, was my reply, “I am so happy you like it”. With a big smile on her face and love in her eyes she answered, ” It’s so cute, you look just like a little boy!!!”  All of my anxiety from the past few days just melted away in those few seconds. Joy filled my heart and laughter fill the air.

Grandchildren, pure joy ☺☺☺

14 thoughts on “OUT OF THE MOUTHS OF BABES

    • Thank you, dear, sweet Kathleen. Your visit and post made my heart smile. I am so blessed to have my daughter, son-in-law and two granddaughters living so close by.
      I love your new photo, you look beautiful and peaceful. I still pray for you in my daily prayers. Bless you, dear friend. Hugs.

      Like

Leave a comment